Skip to content
AFK Hours

AFK Hours compared to IdleSteam, SharpyBoost and FreeHourBoost

Four services that keep your Steam games running from their own servers, side by side: what they cost, how they sign in to your account, and what they do once they are in. The rows where we lose are in the table too.

How to read the table
  • Included
  • Not offered
  • With a catch

Prices and features read on the public pages of each service on 10 September 2026, in US dollars as they display them. Our own column reflects the site you are on.

Where that leaves you
What you getAFK HoursSubscriptions or a lifetime plan, QR-code sign-in, eleven languages.IdleSteamRunning since 2015. Subscriptions, one panel for up to 100 accounts, control from a Steam bot.SharpyBoost2026 newcomer. Hour packs with no expiry, an achievement unlocker and free-game claiming.FreeHourBoostHour packs and a free plan that refills itself; around since at least 2020.
Price
One Steam account, 32 games$1.49 a month, or $11.99 a year$7 a month ($71.40 a year)$5.99 for 5,600 hours per game, about 7 months of 24/7$9.99 for 6,000 hours per game, about 8 months of 24/7
Several Steam accounts5 accounts for $2.99 a month, 15 for $5.992 accounts for $13 a month; $5 per account from 3One pack per accountOne pack per account
Lifetime, paid once$29.99 for 1 account, $59.99 for 5, $119.99 for 15Not offered$19.99, 1 account$29.99, 1 account
Free plan1 account, 3 games, 8 hours a day, for as long as you like; shows afkhours.com as the game6-hour trial120 hours on 3 games, refillable100 hours on 1 game, refillable
How you paySubscription (monthly, 6 months, yearly) or once for lifeSubscriptionHour packs that never expire, or lifetimeHour packs that never expire, or lifetime
Payment methodsCard, PayPal; crypto and CS2 / TF2 keys by handPayPal and PaySafeCard; no cardsCard, PayPal, cryptoCard, PayPal, crypto
Your Steam account
Signing in to SteamIncludedQR code with the Steam app; nothing typedNot offeredYour password, plus the shared_secret extracted from your phoneIncludedQR code or credentialsNot stated on their site
Your Steam passwordNever seenRequiredOptionalNot stated
Revoke access from Steam in one clickIncludedSteam → Authorized devicesNot offeredYou would change your passwordWith a catchWith the QR sign-inNot stated
Public status pageIncludedIncludedUptime logsNot statedNot stated
Idling
Up to 32 games at onceIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Appear offline while idlingIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Pauses when you play, restarts by itselfIncludedIncludedChecked every 15 minutes; needs your shared_secret with mobile Steam GuardIncludedIncluded
Custom “now playing” textIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Auto-reply to messagesIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Friend requests handled for youIncludedAccept, decline or ignoreIncludedIncludedIncluded
Idle on a schedule (hours of the day)IncludedPro and UltraNot offeredNot on their feature listNot offeredNot on their feature listNot offeredNot on their feature list
Hour goals that stop by themselvesIncludedPro and UltraNot offeredNot offeredTheir “Auto Stop” is the pause when you playNot offeredTheir “Auto Stop” is the pause when you play
Achievement unlockerIncludedPro and UltraNot offeredIncludedPaid plansNot offered
Trading-card farmerIncludedPaid plans, per accountIncludedIncludedIncluded
Alerts when a session dropsIncludedEmail, Discord webhook, TelegramIncludedEmail, TelegramNot statedNot stated
Ranking with a monthly prizeIncludedNot offeredNot offeredNot offered
Service
Interface languagesEnglish, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Ukrainian, Russian, Turkish, Chinese, KoreanEnglishSeveralEnglish
SupportTickets in the app, DiscordTelegram, Instagram, DiscordDiscord, tickets, emailDiscord
Around since2026201520262020 at least

Where that leaves you

  • For one account, AFK Hours is the cheapest subscription on this table, more than four times under IdleSteam. Hour packs cost less up front but run out: 5,600 hours on SharpyBoost is about seven months of round-the-clock idling.
  • For 5 or 15 accounts, one AFK Hours plan covers them all. The others sell one plan per account.
  • For one account for life, Starter costs the same as FreeHourBoost and ten dollars more than SharpyBoost; Pro and Ultra cover 5 and 15 accounts, which nobody else sells for life.
  • We never see your Steam password. IdleSteam needs it, together with your Steam Guard secret.
  • Every service on this table farms trading cards, ours included: on AFK Hours it is a switch per account, on the paid plans.

Try it on one account, free

One Steam account, three games, eight hours a day, no card asked. Scan the QR code and the hours start.

Data from the public pages of idlesteam.com, sharpyboost.com and freehourboost.com on 10 September 2026, in US dollars as displayed there. The names belong to their owners, who took no part in this page. Spotted something that changed? Tell us and we correct it.